Accepting Nominations for Flamber Head and Tuckamore Awards to be presented during Volunteer Week 2014

Spurwink Island Path

Gord Follett

Mar 5, 2014

Accepting Nominations for Flamber Head and Tuckamore Awards to be presented during Volunteer Week 2014

Wednesday, March 5, 2014

Nominations are now open for the Association’s 2014 Flamber Head Award and the 2014 Tuckamore Award given annually by ECTA to honour members and supporters.

Awards will be presented April 9th, 2014 at Rocket Room, Water Street, St. John’s. Please join us for an early evening chocolate-tasting, a slide show, and a formal thank you to our many volunteers and supporters. Doors open at 7:00 p.m. and the event starts at 7:30 p.m., hosted by Susan Quinlan, chair of the Board of Directors, East Coast Trail Association (ECTA).

The Flamber Head Award is given to members of the Association who have demonstrated exceptional commitment to volunteerism and the association. These volunteers exemplify leadership, creativity, cooperation and hard work. Recipients generally have made an outstanding contribution to the Association, and therefore to the community, through their service or actions. Anyone can nominate a recipient.

The Tuckamore Award was created to honour hiker and former board member Wayne Spracklin and recognize his contributions to the Trail, the Association, and to the people of this province. It is awarded to a person, group, organization or municipality who has made a difference and helped the association persevere. It was initiated in 2012 to Wayne’s memory and he was an inaugural recipient, posthumously. Wayne Spracklin, like the tuckamore trees on our coastline, was determined, committed, and resilient, says President Randy Murphy. His contributions to preserving the land around our Trail were many and varied. He was steadfast in his support, advice and direction. We miss him. Nominees are normally members of ECTA but any supporter, group, agency, corporation or town can be a recipient.

Please consider nominating a member, person, supporter or group for either award by filling out the online nomination form. There is no limit on the number of Awards the Association may sanction but a selection committee will apply criteria for decision-making on both categories.

Note: Nominations due by March 26th, 2014, and you use the same form for both awards.


Thank you,

2014 Planning Committee
Anne Marie Hynes, Darlene Scott and Randy Murphy