Accepting Nominations for Flamber Head and Tuckamore Awards

Spurwink Island Path

Gord Follett

Apr 10, 2013

Accepting Nominations for Flamber Head and Tuckamore Awards

Wednesday, April 10, 2013

Nominations due by April 17th, 2013.

Nominations are now open for the Flamber Head Award and the Tuckamore Award given annually by ECTA to honour members and supporters. Awards will be presented April 23rd at a potluck and social at St. John’s Lions Club, off Bonaventure Avenue in St. John’s.

Please submit nominations (PDF format or DOC format by email to:

Flamber Head Awards are given to members of the Association who have demonstrated exceptional commitment to volunteerism and the association. These volunteers exemplify leadership, creativity, cooperation and hard work. Recipients generally have made an outstanding contribution to the Association, and therefore to the community, through their service or actions.

The Tuckamore Award was created to honour and remember hiker and former board member Wayne Spracklin and to recognize the positive contribution he made to the Trail, the Association, and to the people of this province. It is awarded to a person, group, organization or municipality who has made a difference and helped the association persevere. It is a new award, initiated in 2012 to Wayne’s memory and he was an inaugural recipient, posthumously.

Wayne Spracklin added significant value to our lives and helped us make a difference, and Wayne, like the tuckamore on our coastline, was determined, committed, and resilient, says President Randy Murphy.

He was tough but always respectful and fair, and he believed that knowledgeable informed people would carry the day. He advised us to always remain positive regardless of the weather, that patience was critical as change would be slow to come, and to keep pushing forward and focused no matter how challenging or hard the going got.

Please consider nominating a member, person, supporter or group responsible for helping us create positive change and make a difference along the Trail.

Former recipients, in alphabetical order, are:

Flamber Head Award
Bill Collins 2010
Marian Dawe 2012
Elke Dettmer 2010
Ben Dunne 2010
Geoff Emberley 2011
Peter Gard 2010
Susan Gardiner 2012
Mark Graesser 2010
Neil Hardy 2012
Gene Herzberg 2010
Robbie Hicks 2010
Joy Lawrie 2011
Barry MacKay 2010
Randy Murphy 2010
Don Paul 2010
Darlene Scott 2012
Bruce Shelswell 2010
Albert Sutton 2010
Allan Stein 2010
Adrian Tanner 2010
Janny Vanhouwelingen 2011
Judith Whittick 2011

Tuckamore Award
Jean Briggs 2012
Wayne Spracklin 2012
Allan Stein 2012

Inquires and nominations can be directed to the committee at:

Thank you,

2013 Planning Committee
Cathy Carroll, Darlene Scott and Randy Murphy