Call for Board Nominations

Spurwink Island Path

Gord Follett

Aug 26, 2013

Call for Board Nominations

Monday, August 26, 2013

We Need You!
It’s that time of year again – when preparations for the East Coast Trail Association (ECTA) Annual General Meeting (AGM) get underway. One important part of the AGM is the election of the Board of Directors for the Association.

It’s never been a better time to consider joining the board. We are just beginning to implement a four-year strategic plan, the Trail’s 20th anniversary is approaching in 2014, and most importantly we have positions on the board that need to be filled! If many hands make light work, then it is also true that a variety of talents and voices make for a well-rounded group to lead the Association. If you are interested in joining the team or know someone who you think would be a good candidate, please send an email with contact information to who is leading the 2013 Nominations Committee.

Eligibility & Schedule
If you are considering putting your name forward to join the board here are the things you’ll need to know:

* To be eligible you must be a member in good standing or an honorary member
* At the first board meeting following the AGM, board members will elect the executive which includes: President, Chair,Vice-Presidents and Secretary
* Board meetings are held monthly; executive committee meetings are held monthly
* The ECTA bylaws provide for a maximum of 15 board members (note: 7 board members are returning for the second year of their two-year terms, 3 board members are nominated for re-election, and 1 board member – appointed since the last AGM – is nominated for election – see list of board members and status below)
* The 2013 AGM is scheduled for Thursday evening, October 10, 2013 at E.B. Foran Room, City Hall, St. John’s
* Nominations to the board are due by October 1, 2013
* Questions or additional information about the board and its duties are gladly accepted. Please contact Ed Hayden, Chair ECTA Nominations Committee 2013

Board Members and Status
Directors elected at 2012 AGM  1 year remaining in term (7):
* Ed Hayden
* Dwayne Zeller
* John Bruijns
* Mona Rossiter
* Susan Quinlan
* Geralyn Christmas
* Phil McCarthy

Directors elected at 2011 AGM  term expiring, nominated for re-election (3):
* Ron Penney
* Randy Murphy
* Adrian Tanner

Director appointed by board following 2012 AGM nominated for election (1):
* Jason Brown

New Directors nominated by nominations committee 2013 (To Be Determined):

Directors elected at 2011 AGM  retired or retiring, not seeking re-election (3):
* Kate O’Brien
* Robert Sexty
* Geoff Emberley

You can also view this news item in full colour