Thirteen outstanding volunteers selected for the Sovereign’s Medal for Volunteers

Spurwink Island Path

Gord Follett

Aug 14, 2019

Thirteen outstanding volunteers selected for the Sovereign’s Medal for Volunteers

It is with great pride and pleasure that we announce the award of the Sovereign’s Medal for Volunteers from the Office of the Governor General of Canada to 13 outstanding volunteers of the East Coast Trail Association. 

The official presentation of Medals will be held at a special ceremony at Government House hosted by The Honourable Judy M. Foote, Lieutenant Governor of Newfoundland and Labrador, and His Honour Howard W. Foote. 

The Sovereign’s Medal for Volunteers is a Canadian decoration intended to honour volunteers who have made a significant contribution to their community, either in Canada or abroad. The medal recognizes the exceptional volunteer achievements of Canadians from across the country in a wide range of fields and pays tribute to the dedication and commitment of volunteers. 

The recognition of 13 ECTA volunteers is an achievement of remarkable significance, not only in that it is bestowed from the highest office in Canada, but also in that it represents the largest number of recipients recognized from one group or organization, in the history of Newfoundland and Labrador. To date, only seven such medals have been awarded to Newfoundlanders and Labradorians. 

The ceremony and official presentation will take place on August 21, 2019.  Recipients of the medal, their families and guests will be in attendance, along with representatives from the Federal Government, the Government of Newfoundland and Labrador, ACOA, major ECTA sponsors, partners, volunteers and the ECTA Board. The event is by invitation only as there is a limited amount of space. 

The recipients of the Sovereign’s Medal for Volunteers are as follows: 

  • Bill Collins
  • Pat Dabinett
  • Elke Dettmer
  • Peter Gard
  • Mark Graesser
  • Ed Hayden
  • Gene Hertzberg
  • Robbie Hicks
  • Barry MacKay
  • Randy Murphy
  • Chris Ryan
  • Allan Stein
  • Adrian Tanner

In celebration of our 25th Anniversary, we sought out the Sovereign Medal Award to recognize and thank these volunteers. Our 2019 objective was to obtain recognition from the Governor General of Canada, that the delivery of the East Coast Trail was a significant accomplishment made possible through the dedication, commitment and determination of passionate volunteers. 

Through our Awards Program, the East Coast Trail Association will continue to seek public recognition for volunteers by applying for awards like the Governor General of Canada Awards. 

PDF Version: Sovereign’s Medal for Volunteers 08-14-2019

Copyright © 2019 East Coast Trail Association 

East Coast Trail Association · 50 Pippy Place · P.O. Box 8034 · St. John’s, Newfoundland And Labrador A1B 3M7 · Canada