Volunteer Awards night in Beautiful Bauline

Spurwink Island Path

Gord Follett

Apr 28, 2016

Volunteer Awards night in Beautiful Bauline

Thursday, April 28, 2016

Over 60 people came out to recognize and honour our East Coast Trail volunteers and in particular, our
award-winning volunteers for this season.

The potluck social and volunteer award night took place at the brand new Bauline Town Hall in the community where early talks about an East Coast hiking Trail took place in 1994.

President Randy Murphy introduced the evening and gave a short summary of the ECTA annual report which included prospective
goals for 2016. This work plan involves ECTA raising $170,000 for sustain the trail projects, such as digitalizing layered trail maps,
and improving community signage, as well as keeping the 300 km trail open and safe for hikers.

The annual report and the 2016 ECTA audited financial statements will be available in September before our AGM and will be posted on our website.

Caroline McIlroy, trail runner extraordinaire gave a fascinating talk about her record breaking run from
Cappahayden to Fort Amherst last June, coming in at under 35 hours on a round-the-clock challenge. Hikers asked about training and incentive in extreme sports. Turns out that a lot of bananas were eaten!

Now for the awards.

Mona Rossiter, ECTA Director of Marketing received the Flamber Head award for several years and many hours of board and committee work on the Tely Hike, social media and website development. John Bruijns, ECTA Director of Finance and Administration received the Flamber Head award for his work and responsibility for all things financial in the organization since 2012.

Dawn Stewart, maintenance volunteer, as well as Sierra Club maintenance co-lead and a dependable source of friendly good cheer, received the Dr. Ross Clipper award. Dawn also particpated in the PCSP hike group maintenance outings on Goat Cove last season.

Finally, the Town of Torbay received the Tuckermore award for support of the ECTA as well as protecting the Torbay coastline as a conservation area. Mayor Ralph Tapper accepted the award on behalf of the Torbay town council.

The Outfitters pitched in a door prize for the evening and Randy Best’s photos of the two new paths climbing out of Bauline were thoroughly enjoyed.

Story by J. Van Houwelingen

Photos by Alick Tsui

Volunteer award winners Mayor Ralph Tapper for the Torbay town council, Dawn Stewart, Mona Rossiter, and John Bruijns, flanked by ECTA executives Susan Quinlan and Randy Murphy; and Caroline McIlroy, trail runner extraordinaire.